Guest Post – Scary Moments by Graham Marks


412T7K5JjnL__SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

Throughout the month of October myself and the lovely Heather over at  heatherreviews.wordpress.com  thought we would team up and do a read along with some spooky reads!

We have both been enjoying the Red Eye series published by Stripes Publishing this year so thought these would be ideal for a spooky read along!

Everyone is welcome to join in!

RE_Blogger

We have a hash tag on twitter where you can keep up to date on our progress and tweet out yours – #RedEyeReadAlong

We also have a Goodreads Group set up for the occasion for even more discussion and to comfort each other when we get scared – you can find the group here

As part of the read along the lovely people at Stripes and the brilliant Red Eye authors have agreed to play along with a weekly spooky guest post throughout the read along!

Today I am honoured to have the super scary Graham Marks, author of Bad Bones, talking to me about scary moments   !

**cries for Mommy**


412T7K5JjnL__SX324_BO1,204,203,200_

Gabe is feeling the pressure. His family has money troubles, he’s hardly talking to his dad, plus lowlife Benny is on his case. Needing some space to think, he heads off into the hills surrounding LA. And he suddenly stumbles across a secret that will change everything. A shallow grave. Gabe doesn’t think twice about taking the gold bracelet he finds buried there. Even from the clutches of skeletal hands. But he has no idea what he’s awakening…Graham Mark’s chilling novel is part of the Red Eye series, perfect for fans of James Dawson’s Say Her Name.


Scary Moments!

I jump in all the right places in scary films, even comedy horror, like Shaun of the Dead, which I love, and the kitsch Hammer horror movies from the 60s.

th

Dracula-01

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Scariest movie moment?

Probably back to Mr King and Carrie, at the end, when her hand busts out of the ground.

51QZskZbPAL__SX310_BO1,204,203,200_th8D853ENB

 

 

 

 

 

 

Horror genre influences would have to be, first and foremost, HP Lovecraft, and in my teens I read just about everything Dennis Wheatley wrote – The Devil Rides Out springs to mind – and while he isn’t a horror writer, Ray Bradbury’s Something Wicked This Way Comes is an immaculate, scary book.

519O1fDZq+L__SX326_BO1,204,203,200_51YINH-E+NL__SX322_BO1,204,203,200_

 

 

 

 

 

 

Of Bad Bones, there’s the bit in Chapter 2, at night, when Gabe discovers the skeleton in the canyon and scares himself witless; or the moment outside Cecil LeBarron’s antique shop, when he see’s the old man and recognizes him from his horrendous nightmare – that’s when Gabe knows trouble has him in its sights. But then there’s the bit, which spans the end of Chapter 10 and the beginning of Chapter 11, where Gabe meets Rafael face to face for the first time.

412T7K5JjnL__SX324_BO1,204,203,200_


About Graham Marks

GM2015

Graham has spent his whole career in children’s publishing, firstly as a Creative Director and latterly as a journalist and award-winning author. His first published work was a book of poetry, which came out while he was studying Graphics at Harrow School of Art. He has also worked for Marvel Comics writing scripts and in advertising as a copywriter.

Find out more about Graham Marks by visiting his website here or follow him on twitter – @GeeMarks


Check out a previous Q&A with Graham Marks here

Also check out my review of Bad Bones here

Check out the #RedEyeReadAlong Q&A with Graham Marks here

You can also find out more about the RedEyeReadAlong here and the Bad Bones Read Along here which includes details of the weekly challenge.

RE_Blogger


A huge thank you to Graham for stopping by and for Jen at Stripes for organising this with us!

Do join in using the has tag on twitter #RedEyeReadAlong and why not join the Goodreads Group here

You can follow me on twitter using @ChelleyToy or Heather using @hlwrites0490

Happy Halloween!

sig2

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...

I am often known to be a bit clumsy and a little loopy! Book loving (obsessed), theatre loving, slasher film loving csi geek!

Winner of UKYABA Champion Newcomer 2015 and nominated for Champion of Social Media 2016 and Blogger Of The Year 2016!


© 2014 – 2017 Michelle Toy All Rights Reserved


2 thoughts on “Guest Post – Scary Moments by Graham Marks

  1. Pingback: Tales Post – Red Eye Read Along October 2015 | Tales of Yesterday

  2. Pingback: Review – Bad Bones by Graham Marks | Tales of Yesterday

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *