Tales Post – British Books Challenge 2017 – February


Welcome to the British Books Challenge 2017 – February!

#BritishBooksChallenge17

And where on earth did January go?!  It zoomed past us so quick!

I can’t quite believe it’s now February!

You all did SO amazing on the January #BritishBooksChallenge17 !  I was overwhelmed and so proud of all of the reviews that were linked up and all of the British reading everyone did!

128 reviews of books by British Authors were linked up in January!

*proud face*

128!

And it was so so lovely that so many of you embraced our author and debuts of the month for January as well as all of the other amazing books you all read!

Thank you all!

Forward march to February!


About The British Books Challenge

The British Books Challenge is a reading challenge that will be running here on Tales Of Yesterday between 1st January 2017 to 31st December 2017 and the main focus of the challenge is reading and reviewing books by British authors.

I have created a #BritishBooksChallenge17 summary page here which will also keep track of my own progress in the challenge too.

If you have not signed up yet there’s still plenty of time – find out more about the challenge here

Please note you can sign up to the challenge at any time throughout the year but only sign up entries made on or before the 31st December 2016 will be entered to win the sign up prize.

This is the first time I am hosting this particular challenge and I have lots of things planned for us all!

I have been in touch with lots of publishers who have kindly donated lots of lovely prize packs for us throughout the year for the challenge!

Right lets get started with February starting with the winner of the January Prize Pack!


With thanks to the lovely people at Harper Collins Children’s January’s prize pack contained the following four books…..

All valid reviews and links by British Authors that were linked up on the January linky here were eligible to be entered to win the January prize pack. With people who read any books by our Author Of The Month, Juno Dawson and/or our Debut’s of the month, Wing Jones and Gilded Cage, earning extra entries.

But there can only be one winner!

And the winner is…….

Lizzie at HuxTales – @littlehux

With her review of Beautiful Broken Things by Sara Barnard

Congratulations!

Please email me your address so that I can arrange for your prize to be sent out to you!

I hope everyone also enjoyed all the extra giveaways I ran on my blog or via twitter over January too 🙂


February’s prize pack has been kindly donated by the lovely people at Usborne and contains the following three books…..

Perfect for fans of Rainbow Rowell and Stephanie Perkins.

Lexi Angelo has grown up helping her dad with his events business. She likes to stay behind the scenes, planning and organizing…until author Aidan Green – messy haired and annoyingly arrogant – arrives unannounced at the first event of the year. Then Lexi’s life is thrown into disarray.

In a flurry of late-night conversations, mixed messages and butterflies, Lexi discovers that some things can’t be planned. Things like falling in love…

When love turns to jealousy, when jealousy turns to rage, when rage turns to destruction…

Laura was head over heels in love with Joe. But now Laura lies in a coma and Joe has gone missing. Was he the one who attacked her?

Laura’s sister Tessie is selectively mute. She can’t talk but she can listen. And as people tell her their secrets, she thinks she’s getting close to understanding what happened on that fateful night.

Welcome to a ‘perfect’ world.  Where war is illegal, where harmony rules. And where your date of birth marks your destiny. But nothing is perfect. And in a world this broken, who can Amity trust?

From the bestselling author of the Angel trilogy comes Broken Sky – an exhilarating epic set in a daring and distorted echo of 1940s America and first in a new trilogy.

A huge thank you to Usborne for donating this brilliant Prize Pack for February!

I also have a couple of special post from these authors going up throughout February too!

One winner will be picked at random from the list of valid reviews submitted each month and will be announced in the following month’s review link up post. The winner will then have 1 week to contact me to claim their prize or a new winner will be chosen. Obviously the more reviews you enter the greater your chance of winning and don’t forget you gain extra entries for any reviews by Debut or Author of the Month for February! It doesn’t matter if you only review one book (or even skip a month or two in the challenge!) you’ll still be entered for each review you do write.

Please Remember…..

Only participants with a valid sign up page that has been linked here are eligible for entry to the monthly prize packs mentioned on this monthly link up page – you can still sign up here

When you add your link to the Mr. Linky below please make sure you link directly to your review, not just to your blog/vlog (invalid links will be deleted)

Books must have been read and reviewed in 2017 to count towards the challenge so those books you read last year but reviewed in 2017 don’t count!  Only books reviewed in February on your blog will count towards the challenge (you could have read them in January though – I’m feeling kind 🙂 )

Also, please make sure that the reviews you link are for books written by British Authors – they can be born in Britain (living here or abroad) or they can be adopted British Authors (who were born elsewhere and now live here) but if they don’t fit into one of those categories then they don’t count. (as above invalid links will be deleted and won’t get you an entry into the prize pack). Please note that Britain includes England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland, I’m afraid authors from Southern Ireland don’t count.

Also see the Author Of The Month and Debut Of The Month section for ways to gain extra entries each month!

And lastly feel free to share your reviews on social media using the #BritishBooksChallenge17 hashtag – it’s not compulsory but it would be fun to share any great British Books you have loved with others!

Lets get chatting and celebrating all of the brilliant British books and authors that we have and all of the wonderful British books that we are reading!

Always remember – never tweet an author into a negative review and be constructive.

For more information about the #BritishBooksChallenge17 click here

If you are a publisher who publishes books by British authors or British author who would be interesting in promoting their titles through the British Books Challenge giveaways please contact me by email.


And the #BritishBooksChallenge17 Author Of The Month for February is…….

Abi Elphinstone!

I am the biggest fan of Abi and her books and I am SO excited that she is our February author of the month!

Not heard of Abi and her books?  I have you covered!

Check out a Spotlight post going live on Tales on the 2nd February!

Don’t Forget…..

If you read, review and link up any books by the author of the month (in the same month that they are author of the month only) then that one review will get you an extra entry into the monthly prize pack draw.  So a double entry for one review!

If the author has multiple books and you read them all you will gain a double entry for each review of each book.

I also have a special treat lined up too!

Look out for a guest post with the lady herself going live at some point in January with a special giveaway of Abi’s brilliant books!

Find a review of The Dreamsnatcher here or a review of The Dreamsnatcher by my son Corey here

You can also find out about the research behind The Dreamsnatcher here

Or Top 10 Shadowkeeper songs here

#BritishBooksChallenge17

If you are a publisher who publishes books by British authors or British author who would be interesting in promoting their titles through the British Books Challenge author of the month then please contact me by email.


There are so many good debuts coming out again this month that it was really hard to decide which to pick…..

So the #BritishBooksChallenge17 Debut Of The Month for February is…….

Who Let The Gods Out?  by Maz Evans

I am super excited to read this book!  I have a feeling it’s going to be amazing!

Not heard of Who Let The Gods Out? or Maz Evans?  I have you covered!

Check out a Spotlight post going live on Tales on the 3rd February!

Don’t Forget…..

If you read, review and link up a review of Who Let The Gods Out? by Maz Evans (in the same month that they are author of the month only) then that one review will get you an extra entry into the monthly prize pack draw.  So a double entry for one review!

I also have some special treats lined up too!

Look out for a Who Let The Gods Out related post some point in February with a special giveaway!

#BritishBooksChallenge17

If you are a publisher who publishes books by British authors or British author who would be interesting in promoting their debut through the British Books Challenge debut of the month then please contact me by email.


As well as the above I have lots of other exciting posts and giveaways going up throughout the month too which I will share using the hashtag so do look out for those too!

#BritishBooksChallenge17

As well as following the hashtag #BritishBooksChallenge17 I would also suggest following my blog using your preferred feed subscription (by email by filling in the subscription box at the top of my blog , BlogLovin’ etc) in order to keep up with the latest news and posts regarding this challenge throughout 2017!

Here’s to a wonderful February!

Now for the important part, make sure you link all of your reviews using the Mr. Linky form below. In the Your Name field please include your blog name, the title of the book and the author. Make sure the link takes me directly to your review or your entry won’t count and will be deleted from the list.

Name – Please add your name and blog / YouTube channel e.g Chelley Toy – Tales Of Yesterday

URL – Please add a direct link to your review post here




Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...
I am often known to be a bit clumsy and a little loopy! Book loving (obsessed), theatre loving, slasher film loving csi geek!
Winner of UKYABA Champion Newcomer 2015 and nominated for Champion of Social Media 2016 and Blogger Of The Year 2016!

© 2014 - 2017 Michelle Toy All Rights Reserved

35 thoughts on “Tales Post – British Books Challenge 2017 – February

  1. beth@bethkemp.co.uk'Beth

    I’ve already messed this up, as I posted 2 reviews in Jan but only remembered to link one to your linky. Argh! this is why I’m rubbish at challenges… Oh well, I’ll keep trying.

    Reply
          1. Chelley Toy Post author

            I’m not sure? The link is correct but in the name box if you write – Book Name by Author Name – Thornton Rigg it should come up for you. It’s no problem to sort it this end though I promise

  2. mbc84@hotmail.co.uk'Mary Jarwood

    I’ve just entered Moon Over Soho by Ben Aaronovitch for February. I’ve read a few more by British authors that I hadn’t even realised so I might have to enter them as well 😛 thank you so much for hosting!
    (Also can you tell me if it links it correctly? The WordPress app is terrible but it’s all I have at the moment lol)

    Reply
  3. Pingback: Guest Post – The Adventures Behind The Night Spinner by Abi Elphinstone | Tales of Yesterday

  4. jill@jillwrites.com'Jill

    Hi! Post is up at my blog, JIllWrites. Some links are acting a bit strange right now, but it should be fixed soon. (2017 is my motivating year of re-launching my blog.) Thanks,
    JillWrites

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *